Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax/Manassas Criminal & Personal Injury Blog

People in Virginia who have been charged with driving while drunk need to understand the laws of the state in order to prepare a strong defense. When law enforcement has probable cause to make a traffic stop of a driver suspected of driving under the influence, the driver is required to take a breath test or or face charges of breath test refusal. There are various penalties for breath test refusal if the blood alcohol content level is above the legal limit of 0.08 percent. The driver's license will be suspended for specific amounts of time depending on the circumstances.

Driving with an open container of alcohol within reach of the driver and with the contents of the container reduced could lead to a charge of DWI if the driver shows signs of intoxication. A driver who has a juvenile 17-years-old or younger as a passenger will face a jail sentence of at least five days. This is in addition to other fines and penalties for drunk driving charges. For driving with a suspended license for DWI, the driver's vehicle will be impounded for 30 days. A conviction can extend that impoundment for up to 90 days.

Underage drunk driving involves drivers who are under 21-years-old. Since people under the age of 21 are not allowed to be drinking in the first place, the penalties for underage drunk driving are commensurate with that. If the person's BAC level is between 0.02 percent and 0.08 percent, there can be a suspension of driving privileges for a year, a minimum fine of $500 and 50 hours of community service. With a BAC level of 0.08 percent or above, the underage driver might be charged as an adult.

Since driving under the influence is seen as a dangerous act that can cause injury and death, it's treated seriously by law enforcement with penalties for refusing to take a breath test and for registering a blood alcohol content above the legal limit. When confronted with these charges, it must be remembered that law enforcement must follow certain rules during an investigation. If the evidence is not gathered according to the law, the charges might be reduced or dropped entirely. Since this post should not be seen as giving specific legal advice, it's imperative to have qualified legal assistance when dealing with any form of drunk driving charges.

Source: Virginia's Driving Manual, "Penalties: Alcohol and the Law," accessed on Oct. 26, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

email the Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Christie A Leary

View our Blog

  • Stress, anxiety, frustration, confusion, fear, pain and injury are all emotions which can play havoc on an individual following a motor vehicle accident. Few individuals have the training...
  • In your vehicle, check to ensure that you keep the following in your glove compartment: (1) Vehicle registration (2) Insurance information (3) Small notepad (4) Pen (5) Disposable Camera...
  • First, assess whether you or anyone else involved in the incident requires medical attention. Call 911 immediately if any one requires medical attention. Your health and safety and the safety of others involved in the accident is paramount.
  • In the aftermath of an accident, you will feel as if you have entered into your own personal 4 ring circus.

Read More

Review Us
Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax Office
10505 Judicial Drive, Suite 203
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Fairfax Office Map

Manassas Office
9300 W. Courthouse Rd., Ste 204
Manassas, VA 20110
Manassas Office Map

Attorneys AT LAW


LOCAL: 703-359-7111
TOLL FREE: 800-823-1127
FAX: 703-543-5478
Email

Visa | Master Card | American Express | Discover