Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax/Manassas Criminal & Personal Injury Blog

Teens in Virginia are often under the impression that there is nothing wrong with minor consumption of alcohol, even though they are underage and against the law. The fact is that it is illegal for those under the age of 21 to purchase, possess or attempt to purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage. In addition to this criminal act, there are other behaviors that often occur in conjunction to drinking, such as underage drinking and driving that can lead to significant, life-altering penalties.

If a person under the age of 21 violates the above-listed laws, it will be a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, there could be a fine of as much as $2,500, a year in jail, 50 hours of community service or all of the above. Additionally, the person might have driving privileges revoked for as long as one year whether they were charged with DUI or not. If a law enforcement officer finds a person under the age of 21 possessing alcohol, the item can be confiscated and charges can be filed.

Teens might also mistakenly believe that they are within the confines of the law if someone over the age of 21 purchases the alcoholic beverage for them. This too is illegal for both the purchaser and the teen receiving the alcohol. The teen who receives the alcohol will be subject to a Class 1 misdemeanor. If there is a conviction, there could be incarceration for up to one year, a fine of as much as $2,500 or both.

If a teen drinks and drives, it must be understood that the law is harsh. A charge for drinking and driving will be a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties will include the loss of driving privileges for one year from the date of the conviction, as well as a minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service.

Those who have been charged with alcohol-related offenses while underage need to understand the potential consequences they will face, if they are convicted of any violation related to underage drinking. To avoid the penalties under the juvenile law system, it is important to lodge a strong defense with help from an experienced attorney.

Source: VirginiaRules.com, "Alcohol and Tobacco," accessed on Dec. 14, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

email the Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Christie A Leary

View our Blog

  • Stress, anxiety, frustration, confusion, fear, pain and injury are all emotions which can play havoc on an individual following a motor vehicle accident. Few individuals have the training...
  • In your vehicle, check to ensure that you keep the following in your glove compartment: (1) Vehicle registration (2) Insurance information (3) Small notepad (4) Pen (5) Disposable Camera...
  • First, assess whether you or anyone else involved in the incident requires medical attention. Call 911 immediately if any one requires medical attention. Your health and safety and the safety of others involved in the accident is paramount.
  • In the aftermath of an accident, you will feel as if you have entered into your own personal 4 ring circus.

Read More

Review Us
Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax Office
10505 Judicial Drive, Suite 203
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Fairfax Office Map

Manassas Office
9300 W. Courthouse Rd., Ste 204
Manassas, VA 20110
Manassas Office Map

Attorneys AT LAW


LOCAL: 703-359-7111
TOLL FREE: 800-823-1127
FAX: 703-543-5478
Email

Visa | Master Card | American Express | Discover