Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.
Call Us: 703-359-7111

As far as alcohol-related crimes go, drunk driving receives by far the most attention. However, for young adults and children under the age of 21, even possessing or drinking alcohol can result in criminal charges. While drinking underage is fairly common nowadays, it is still a crime and can result in serious consequences. Over the last couple of decades, Virginia has made more of an effort to enforce underage drinking laws, which means young people are more likely to get arrested for liquor law violations than ever before.

The most common violations include underage consumption of alcohol, underage possession of alcohol and underage purchase of alcohol. According to Va. Code Sec. 4.1-305, possessing alcohol before you turn 21 is a Class I Misdemeanor and could result in up to a fine up to $2,500 and a year in jail. The minimum penalties include a $500 fine or 50 hours of community service as part of your probation supervision.

If you are convicted for underage alcohol possession, you may lose your driving privileges. If you are 18 or older, you may have your license suspended from 6 months to a year, while drivers ages 16 to 18 will lose their driving privileges for 6 months. If a driver is under 16, he or she will not be able to apply for a license for six months after they turn 18, plus three months.

Young people should also be aware that having a criminal charge on your record, even if it is only a misdemeanor, could have a significant impact on your life. You may find it difficult to find a job, get accepted into college or enlist in the military. However, there are ways for you to defend yourself against underage possession and other liquor law violations. If you decide to hire an attorney, they will help you challenge these allegations by holding all evidence against you to the highest standard. If the evidence against you is unreliable or irrelevant to the case, the court may decide to dismiss the charges against you.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE

Contact An Experienced Manassas Personal Injury Or DWI/DUI Lawyer

The firm offers a free consultation to review the facts of your case and recommend the best steps to take. Call 703-359-7111 or toll free 800-823-1127, or contact the offices by email to arrange an initial free consultation with our Fairfax criminal defense lawyers.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Locations

Fairfax Office
10505 Judicial Drive, Suite 203
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Toll Free: 1-800-823-1127
Phone: 703-359-7111
Fax: 703-543-5478
Fairfax Office Map

Manassas Office
9300 W. Courthouse Rd., Suite 204
Manassas, Virginia 20110

Toll Free: 1-800-823-1127
Phone: 703-359-7111
Fax: 703-543-5478
Map & Directions

Call/Fax