Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.
Call Us: 703-359-7111

Can I be convicted of a DWI if my BAC was under .08?

Many Virginia drivers mistakenly assume that if their blood alcohol concentration is less than .08 percent, they cannot be convicted of a DUI. However, according to Virginia Code, Section 18.2-269, the law will only presume that one is not intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .05 percent or less.

Virginia Beach woman charged with DUI

A 35-year-old Virginia Beach woman was recently arrested for driving under the influence and damaging state property after officers allegedly observed her driving recklessly on I-264. State police reported that the woman was driving the wrong-way on the interstate, and almost collided with an officer as the unit attempted to stop her vehicle. Police reportedly slowed interstate traffic, placed spike strips to slow her vehicle down and as her vehicle slowed, officers boxed her in. The woman's vehicle then reportedly collided with a trooper's vehicle, causing the vehicle to sustain damages. Fortunately, there were no injuries.

Virginia woman arrested for DUI following collision

According to Virginia's Move Over Law, drivers are required to vacate the lane closest to emergency vehicles, road maintenance and utility vehicles, and tow trucks that are stopped on the road, if it is safe to do so, or slow down to a safe speed. A 21-year-old Virginia driver violated this law when she struck two police cars that were stopped to conduct a traffic stop on the highway. The driver was charged with a DUI following the accident.

The consequences of driving drunk in Virginia

Virginia drivers facing drunk driving charges should be aware of the consequences they may face if they are convicted. The consequences you face upon conviction will depend on various factors including your criminal history and the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Generally, if you have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher, you will be considered legally intoxicated and be arrested for drunk driving.

Virginia Man arrested for unruly behavior and DUI

If you are facing a DUI charge, that may not be the only charge you face, depending on your past record, interaction with the police officers, and status of your license. A Virginia man faces multiple charges after allegedly driving under the influence of alcohol.

What happens during a DWI arraignment?

Facing drunk driving charges in Virginia can be scary, particularly if it is the first time you have been charged with a crime. If you are facing DWI charges, you will need to pay special attention to the arraignment process, as it will typically be your first time appearing in court for your case.

Virginia driver charged with DUI following interstate accident

While most people in Virginia will not drive after having consumed too much alcohol, that doesn't mean that police won't be on the lookout for those they believe are drunk driving. Facing drunk driving charges can be a serious situation, as one recent incident shows.


Contact An Experienced Manassas Personal Injury Or DWI/DUI Lawyer

The firm offers a free consultation to review the facts of your case and recommend the best steps to take. Call 703-359-7111 or toll free 800-823-1127, or contact the offices by email to arrange an initial free consultation with our Fairfax criminal defense lawyers.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy


Fairfax Office
10505 Judicial Drive, Suite 203
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Toll Free: 1-800-823-1127
Phone: 703-359-7111
Fax: 703-543-5478
Fairfax Office Map

Manassas Office
9300 W. Courthouse Rd., Suite 204
Manassas, Virginia 20110

Toll Free: 1-800-823-1127
Phone: 703-359-7111
Fax: 703-543-5478
Map & Directions