FAQs About Sex Offender Registration in Virginia
If you’ve recently been arrested or already convicted for violating Virginia’s sex crimes laws, you’re probably well aware that you face an extensive term of incarceration, fines, and other criminal penalties. However, there’s another aspect of your punishment that will follow you around long after you complete your sentence: The requirement to register as a sex offender. The information you must provide is intended to inform the general public about where you work, live, and go to school. These crimes are considered so serious that they justify the imposition of registration requirements.
Considering these harsh consequences for a conviction, it’s wise to trust a Virginia felony sex crimes defense attorney to handle your case. Some answers to common questions about sex offender registration requirements may also be useful.
What sex crimes require registration as a sex offender?
There’s a long list of offenses that make registration mandatory, including:
- Unlawful sexual conduct with a 13- or 14-year-old child more than five years younger than you
- Production or distribution of child pornography
- Sexual battery and aggravated sexual battery
- Subsequent conviction on certain sex crimes
- Many others
How long do I have to register after my release on a felony sex crime?
You have three days after your release from incarceration in a state or county correctional center to comply with the sex offender registration requirements. If imprisonment wasn’t part of your sentence, you have three days after the court order regarding disposition of your case.
What information do I need to provide for the sex offender registration?
You must appear in person at your local sheriff’s office and present your driver’s license or other proof of residency, plus recent photographs. You’ll also be fingerprinted. Officials will pass this information on to school districts, day care centers, and other businesses related to children.
Do I have to register as a sex offender in Virginia if I was convicted in another state?
Yes, registration requirements will follow you across state lines in most cases. The key is comparing the sex crime in the underlying cases, and matching it up with the same or similar offense under Virginia law.
Are juveniles required to register in Virginia?
You are subject to the registration requirements if you were tried in a criminal adult court for a designated sex crime. You’re also required to comply if your case proceeded through the juvenile justice system and the court determines that registration should apply.
When will I be removed from the sex offender registry?
If you haven’t engaged in criminal activity for 15 years, you can have your name removed from the registry and will no longer need to comply with registration requirements. You will need to file a petition in court and demonstrate that you’re not a risk to the public.
Discuss Your Case with a Virginia Felony Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer
If you have additional questions regarding sex crimes defense and registration requirements, please contact Leary Law, P.C. to schedule a consultation at our offices in Manassas or Fairfax, VA. One of our experienced defense attorneys can provide more information on your legal options after reviewing the details of your case.
Leave a Reply