Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax/Manassas Criminal & Personal Injury Blog

For Virginia teens, driving is a new experience and rite of approaching adulthood. It is also a responsibility that requires the adherence of applicable laws to juveniles with accompanying penalties under the juvenile law system if they are violated. Juvenile delinquents can face numerous penalties such as license suspension or a curfew as to the hours they can drive. With alcohol, drug or firearm offenses, the driving privileges can be revoked.

If a juvenile received what are known as "demerit points," these will be added up when there is a conviction of a moving violation. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles will be informed when these occur. Accruing violations can result in a driver's license suspension. Zero tolerance is for juvenile drivers who are convicted of underage drinking and driving.

Anyone under age 21 cannot drive after drinking alcohol or taking drugs. There will be a suspension of driving privileges for one year and either a minimum fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service. When a driver is asked by law enforcement to provide a blood or breath sample to determine if there is alcohol or drugs in the system, it must be provided. A conviction for refusal can result in a loss of driving privileges for one year.

Juveniles must also be aware of the law against using their cell phones while driving. A driver who is under 18 cannot use the device or any other communication device while driving whether it is handheld or not. Drivers are also prohibited from sending text messages or taking part in other activities on their phones. It can be used in the event of an emergency or when the car is stopped or parked. If caught, the traffic offense can result in a fine of $125 for the first offense and a fine of $250 for subsequent offenses.

Juveniles who are facing accusations of a juvenile criminal offense related to driving need to know how to formulate a strong defense to avoid the various punishments that can accumulate. Their lives can be negatively affected with a conviction of underage drinking and driving and other offenses. Speaking to a legal professional experienced in helping those charged with a juvenile offense can help to plan a defense.

Source: virginiarules.com, "Keeping Your Driver's License -- Keeping a driver's license," accessed on Jan. 1, 2016

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

email the Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Christie A Leary

View our Blog

  • Stress, anxiety, frustration, confusion, fear, pain and injury are all emotions which can play havoc on an individual following a motor vehicle accident. Few individuals have the training...
  • In your vehicle, check to ensure that you keep the following in your glove compartment: (1) Vehicle registration (2) Insurance information (3) Small notepad (4) Pen (5) Disposable Camera...
  • First, assess whether you or anyone else involved in the incident requires medical attention. Call 911 immediately if any one requires medical attention. Your health and safety and the safety of others involved in the accident is paramount.
  • In the aftermath of an accident, you will feel as if you have entered into your own personal 4 ring circus.

Read More

Review Us
Law Offices of Christie A. Leary P.C.

Fairfax Office
10505 Judicial Drive, Suite 203
Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Fairfax Office Map

Manassas Office
9300 W. Courthouse Rd., Ste 204
Manassas, VA 20110
Manassas Office Map

Attorneys AT LAW


LOCAL: 703-359-7111
TOLL FREE: 800-823-1127
FAX: 703-543-5478
Email

Visa | Master Card | American Express | Discover